Curated by Ekaterina Popova and Alicia Puig

In Your Own Words

January 23, 2020 - February 22, 2020

The founding of Create! Magazine occurred as a reaction to a lack of representation for emerging artists and a large part of its mission today focuses on giving a voice to those who have most often been marginalized in the art world. Not by intention, but because of the high caliber of their work, we were pleased that our same ideals of being inclusive to women and minority artists on the pages of our print publication could be brought to life on the walls of the 2020 National Juried Exhibition at Hastings College.

Participating Artist:


Jodi Stuart @stuart.jodi, jodistuart.com
Sarah-Twiggy Boyer@sarahtwiggerboyder, sarahtwiggerboyder.com
Carmon Mardonez@desboradado, carmenmardonez.com
Jessica Tenbusch @jessicatenbusch, jessicatenbusch.com
Xiengze Li@xing.zem, xingseli.com
Kacy Jung@kacy_Jung, kcjung.com
Ingrid V. Wells@ingridvwells, ingridwells.com
Kathy Loev Putnam@kathyloevputnam_art, kathyloevputnam.com
Genevieve Cohn@veva957, genevievecohn.com



Alice Stone-Collins@alicestonecollins, alicestonecollins.com
Threadwinners@threadwinners, threadwinners.wordpress.com
Jessica Alazraki@jessicaalazrak1, jessicaalazrakiart.com
Lauren Brady@laurenbradyart, laurenbradyart.com
Emily Bayless@emilybayless, emilybaylessstudio.com
Maddie Stratton@maddiestrattonstudio, maddiestratton.com
Monica Schulman@monicashulman, monicashulman.com
Ericka Sobrack@sobrackstudios, erickasobrack.com
Bree Smith@breesmithart, breesmith.com

“In Your Own Words” highlights a diverse range of media, subject matter, and artistic expression that represent a cultural snapshot of the vibrant art practices found throughout the United States today.

The exhibition features 20 artists who all make a personal statement through their work, yet they do so without using any text. Instead, the artists comment on such topics as identity, nature, technology, and even the nuances of art-making itself, through explorations of landscape, contemporary still-life, the figure, and abstraction, each in their own distinctive way.

Thank you once again to Hastings College for allowing us the opportunity to curate “In Your Own Words” and we hope that you enjoy the show!